LIKE US ON FACEBOOK!

ASPEN HOURS:

8AM-2:30 PM......5PM-9 PM....7 DAYS

Off-Season Spring & Fall Please Call for Hours

PARKER HOURS:

Monday-Friday 11AM-2PM & 4:30 to Close
Saturday & Sunday 11:30 AM to Close

TO RATE US ON YELP

CLICK BELOW.

 

From: Nicole Hanson <nhanson@bezosfamilyfoundation.org>

Date: July 5, 2017 at 10:59:22 AM MDT

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com>

 

Paul,

 

Thank you again for making the impossible possible and providing the best cookout dinner the Scholars program has ever seen (or eaten!) We got rave reviews on the beef, especially. Those potatoes and the brownies are my downfall…

 

Hope your 4th of July holiday was a good one!

 

Kindly,

   Nicole

 

 

Date: May 18, 2017 at 8:33:07 PM MDT

To: aspenbbq@aol.com

Cc: Nick Massmann <nickmassmann@gmail.com>

Subject: Thank You - Wedding BBQ

 

Hi Paul,

 

Hickory House catered at Nick and my wedding on October 8, 2016. Thank you all so much!! EVERYTHING was absolutely amazing. We enjoyed all of it. The BBQ, salad, and drinks were delicious and the service exceeded our expectations. We heard nothing but good things from our guests! Everyone from Hickory House who helped our wedding had great attitudes and were quick and efficient - everything from serving drinks and food to cleaning up. They even cut our sheet cake, with no hesitation (after asking before the wedding). The quality of the food and the price are by far the best deal in Aspen!

 

Thanks again and we would definitely recommend Hickory House to anyone!

 

Nick and Stephanie Massmann

 

 

From: Libbey Becker <libbey.becker@gmail.com>

Date: November 11, 2016 at 8:41:00 AM MST

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com>

Subject: Thank You!

 

Paul,

 

Danny and I want to sincerely thank you for everything you did for us on our wedding weekend.  From securing the rentals, to communicating with our coordinators, to supplying an amazing meal, you were on top of everything.  And we so appreciate all of your hard work.

 

Our parents thought we were crazy when we said we wanted to serve BBQ at our wedding in Aspen.  But as soon as we finished the initial tasting, my mom and dad were 110% on board.  Everyone was so helpful and gracious when we came in, and the appetizers and main dishes were outstanding.  It was an easy sell to my parents after their first bites!  You really made the process easy and fun, which is exactly what we wanted.

 

Our guests gave us so many compliments on all of the food - passed appetizers, sides, pork, and dessert, and everyone loved seeing the whole hogs sitting on the table.  What a fun way to feed 200 guests ... not to mention a delicious one!  One of the best things we heard from people was that our wedding was so "us" and that was, in no small part, thanks to your food and service.  You helped make our day so special, and we cannot express our gratitude enough.  We're looking forward to visiting the Hickory House again soon!

 

Best,

Libbey and Danny

 

 

October 3, 2016 at 12:06:48 PM EDT

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com>

Subject: Re: Hickory House Ribs

 

Paul,

I wanted to thank you for providing such great service and delicious food! We received so many compliments on the food.

Our son, being a true Texas born, wanted a Texan themed rehearsal dinner, and your food made it a reality!

Brian was great handling the final details, and the server(sorry I can't remember her name) was also great.

Everything was perfect.

Thanks!

June

From: June James -  junejames78@gmail.com

 

 

 

From: Pam Reiland <PReiland@gulfstargroup.com>

September 13, 2016 at 2:04:53 PM MDT

Welcome party for 175

Paul –

 

Everything was so perfect Friday night – thanks to you and your team for making it so!!  Let us know if you need any testimonials for prospective parties – we would love to do so.  However, with your fantastic execution I am sure you don’t need any recommendations!

 

 

August 24, 2016

 Douglas Elbert County Ducks Unlimited Banquet

 

Dear Hickory House,

Please accept a special thank you from our DU committee for a job well done. This year's banquet was one of our most successful ever. I received numerous accolades from our attendees on the quality of your BBQ. Thank you for working with us on price and service delivery. Your on-site staff were very helpful and patient serving one of our largest groups in recent times. The BBQ was terrific and the cornbread and Au gratin potatoes added a special touch. Our event was not only a fun time for about 200 people, but first and foremost it helps support waterfowl and wetlands conservation.

 

We look forward to working with you in 2017.

 

Sincerely,

Rally Walters

 

August 23, 2016 at 1:23:04 PM MDT

To: Mark Bergman <Aurileus@hotmail.com>

Cc: Matt Ward <mward@barnhartusa.com>

Subject: Filming at Hickory House

 

Hi there Mark,

 

Thanks again for catering the BBQ at our wedding in June.  It went out splendidly and your team seemed really professional and helpful.  Thanks so much!

 

So... question with good short notice (yikes!).  We're working together with Barnhart Communiations and the Town of Parker to create a really fast and furious tourism video designed to drive traffic down from Denver to Parker.  We're looking for a place with awesome looking (and tasting) food that we can portray in the video and I immediately thought of you.

 

We're filming this Sunday afternoon in your area.  We'd love to get a shot of you guys BBQing and then some table service, focus on the food, laughing people, drinking and visiting.  I'm not sure if we'd be bringing our own talent or if we could possibly borrow some of your team for 30 mins or so.  Happy fun people is what we're looking for.

 

I'm copying Matt Ward from Barnhart who's coordinating all of this.  His direct cell is: 303 907 5427 and his email is mward@barnhartusa.com.

 

 

--

--

--

John Conn

 

 

July 25, 2016 at 7:41:30 AM MDT

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com>

 

Thanks Paul for an amazing evening! It was nice that the weather cooperated but you all made the evening so fabulous! The food was perfect and everyone seemed to really enjoy BBQ by the river. Great service and so nice to have your competent help!

Barb Sullan

 

June 29, 2016

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com

 

Subject: We love Hickory House catering

 

Paul - Use or edit as you wish!

 

Recently we selected Hickory House to cater both a Welcome Party at an outdoor ranch venue and a wedding in a rustic barn on the following night.  From a pig roast at the first event to sumptuous appetizers, bar service, prime rib, chicken, roasted veggies and unbelievable pies at the wedding - all of the food was fabulous, creative and beautifully presented and the service was first-rate.  We were able to relax and enjoy the guests because Paul and his staff took care of everything.  We are eager to plan another party and will definitely use Hickory House again.

 

Many, many thanks!

Jan Kuramoto <jankuramoto@gmail.com>

 

 

Jun 2, 2016 8:49 PM

To: Paul Dioguardi, Aspen Hickory House

Re: Girls senior lacrosse team banquet

 

YOU are the best and AMAZING! Thank you, we will spread the word!!

 

The BEST BANQUET we've ever had! You are stuck with us! You have an amazing team that works together, loves what they do, cares about taking care of everyone, is efficient, kind and it's just the most fun place! And the food Is AMAZING, please spread our love back to the kitchen team as well, what a happy, we'll run, high energy, professional machine you have!!!

 

Forever grateful for having us Lauren! Working with you & Brian was an absolute delight! We will be back many times over!!!

 

Xoxo

Leah Moriarty

 

 

To: Paul Dioguardi

Re: group ski team dinner

 

Paul, I wanted to let you know what a great time the team had at your restaurant. All the parents were very complimentary. The food was excellent and the waitstaff was top notch. Thank you!

Dot

Nivalis Therapeutics, Inc. - www.nivalis.com

3122 Sterling Circle Boulder, CO 80301

 

From:  anayaz18@hotmail.com>

December 17, 2015 at 4:11:07 PM MST

 

Hello Paul,

Just wanted to let you know we ALL loved the food. Everybody kept talking about it today.

Thank you so much for everything. We are definitely going to come back on our next trip :)

Ana

 

Rehearsal dinner last night for 250..

 

From: Nancy Gordon <ngordon@swbell.net>

Date: October 10, 2015 at 9:54:34 AM MDT

To: aspenbbq@aol.com, sam@cprestaurants.com

Subject: Kudos

 

Paul and Samantha,

Know I thanked you last night, but wanted to reiterate Jim and my thanks for a fabulous job!!!!! It was a large group and you handled it beautifully!!!!     The venue was perfect!!!  Many attending were Texans, and they know their barbecue. They were RAVING over the food.

And, same with your great wines, Samantha. Thank you for allowing us to use the grill for Texas toast and the very nice bathrooms.

 

I just  thank you both for everything and for making the evening go PERFECTLY - and allowing me to fully enjoy the evening !!!!!!!!!!

 

Nancy

ngordon@swbell.net

 

Sent: Tue, Jul 7, 2015 5:20 pm

 

Subject: Thank You

 

Paul,

 Thank you for you and your team’s efforts (and delicious food) during our Hallam Lake evening. I hope you were able to recover your table cloths!

 Let’s do it all again next year J

 

Kindly,

Nicole

 

NICOLE HANSON | Manager – Youth Leadership

tel 206-275-2048 ext 122 mobile 206-707-3945

 

From: Laura <homeoticgene@gmail.com>

To: Paul Dioguardi

Sent: Mon, Jun 22, 2015 11:07 am

Re: Hickory House Catering

 

Hi Paul -

Your staff were SUPER helpful and great to work with. The food was delicious and everybody loved the pig. Thanks for all your hard work. Everything turned out perfectly.

Thanks again. We'll be sure to recommend Hickory House to anyone looking for a caterer or good meal out.

 

 - Laura

 

From: Denise Acee <d_acee@yahoo.com>

To: Paul Dioguardi

Subject: Thank you!

 

You'll be receiving a more formal thank you, but I want you to know that the riders loved the meal...and everything went along without a hitch.  You set us up skillfully!  Hope you found all your chafing dishes, etc. where we left them when you arrived.

 

Looking forward to seeing the two of you at the Hickory House in the near future.  I can't remember the name of the woman who helped Bryan set up the food and tent, but please thank her for the help as well.

 

 

From: Michelle Jacobs <michellejacobs@sopris.net>

Sent: Wed, Jun 3, 2015 10:20 pm

Subject: ACS Dinner

 

OMG Paul – thank you so much!  It was absolutely perfect!  Everybody had an amazing time and everything was delicious. Your staff was really sweet and nice.

The whole ACS really thanks you for working so well with us!  You truly are the best!  Elizabeth says that you are leaving town tomorrow again.  Have  a great trip!

Best,

Michelle

 

 

Thu, Apr 16, 2015 2:49 pm

RE: ASC dinner on 4-15

 

Thanks Paul!  And thank you so much for catering our event.  Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the food, and Katie and Kristen (I might have her name wrong) were absolutely amazing.  It truly made our end of the season party a memorable event.

Best,

Kat

 

Katherine Devanney

Mountain Dining Coordinator, Mountain Dining Division | Aspen Skiing Company

KDevanney@aspensnowmass.com

Snowmass | Aspen Mountain | Aspen Highlands | Buttermilk

 

 

March 31, 2015 at 9:05:42 AM MDT

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com>

 

Paul,

I want to tell you what a great time everyone had at our dinner last night! We always include a group dinner at your restaurant on our club trips and everyone looks forward to a wonderful meal. Thank Toy also for taking care of the "special meal" people who had told me their needs prior to the trip, as well as those who did not tell me. I try to cover all bases prior to a trip, and it seems like there is often 1 or 2 who don't respond to requests for information. Anyway, the bottom line is everyone was taken care of.

I also want to say thanks to your servers, who all did a terrific job!

Jeff Meyer

 

From: Christine Andersen

Date: March 26, 2015 at 1:05:50 PM MDT

To: Paul Dioguardi

Hi Paul, I know you were not in town after our party so I wanted to let you know how well the night went - the food was great and the service from Chris and Kate was excellent - the chocolate fountain was a hit, of course!

Thanks again, Chris Andersen

 

 

March 5, 2015 at 5:48:08 PM MST

Paul,

Re: Teacher Luncheon

Thanks, everything turned out awesome!!

The teachers LOVED it!!

Thanks,

Kim

 

March 8, 2015 11:01:16 AM EDT

Hi Paul,

Re The Ducks Unlimited Banquet

It was a great event and all (350 people) loved the food.  Your service was perfect… could not believe how well it worked out.

Sarah Woods-Ducks Unlimited

 

March 8, 2015 10:56:41 AM EDT

Paul: I want to thank you for a great meal that you brought up to the TOV on March 4th. Everything was wonderful and enjoyed by all.

Janet Kangas, trip leader

Ski Cruisers Ski Club

 

October 5, 2014 2:28:56 PM EDT

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com>

Cc: Bryan Baker <bryan@hickoryhouseribs.com>

Subject: Re: Hickory House Quote

Hi Paul and Bryan,

I want to say a huge THANK YOU to all of you at Hickory House who helped with our wedding. The staff you had working couldn't be nicer or more helpful!  Also the food (as always was delicious) and the pig was a huge hit with my city friends! Everything was so perfect!

 

Thanks again!

Kerstin and Tyler

 

 

 

From: Laura Gerlach

Date: September 2, 2014 at 6:12:08 AM MDT

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com>

Subject: Greetings !!

 

Paul:

I hope this note finds you well!  We are SOOOO excited about next week-end!  Thanks for making it so easy!! Thanks for letting me know what you will need.  I am hearing we might be closer to 35 guests as some flights are late... we will see who can show up!  Thanks again for everything!!

 

Everything was PERFECT. Thanks for a fun evening!

Laura

 

 

August 25, 2014 at 12:30:54 PM MDT

Subject: Thank you!  Re: Party Reservation

 

Hi Paul,

First, thank you so much for arranging our event.  The food was spectacular and everyone had a fabulous time.

I also wanted to let you know that both Mariano and Michael were just awesome from the moment we walked in the door to the minute we left.  I just can't overstate how impressed we were with their professionalism, their personalities, their service and how they managed the wait staff and timing of the food service.  Just perfect!

Thank you again, Paul, to all of you for making it a memorable event!

all best, Sue Benso

 

 

 

From: Kathy Weiss <kdwranch@kellin.net>

August 25, 2014 at 7:13:18 PM MDT

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com>

Subject: Re: BarnParty Tues

 

Dear Paul,

Thank you for doing such a fabulous job . The food was delicious and lots of compliments on the Bartenders! Service great.

We will do it  again in 2 years .

Sincerely ,

Kathy

 

Kathy Weiss

Crystal Springs Ranch & Saddlery

1609 County Road 112

Carbondale, CO 81623

www.crystalspgsranch.net

 

July 20, 2014

 

Hey Paul,

 

Thank you so much for all of the delicious food and wonderful service. Everyone loved it!  Again, thank you for all of your hard work.

 

Sincerely,

Ania Anuszkiewicz

 

 

 

June 24, 2014

 

Dear Mark,

Re Gord Bamford Event:

You beat me to it!  You and your team did an AWESOME job last night!  Thank you so much for the great service – so very appreciated. The band and the guests raved about the food . . . and we all huddled in the kitchen last night until 3am pigging out on leftovers.

 

In fact, we offered to take the band out after their concert @ PACE tonight. . .and they asked if we can just come back home to eat HH leftovers. . . you have made Gord & his band a fan!  I will get the invoice to the appropriate folks @ PACE.

 

Thank you so much!

Kelly Gibson

PACE

                                                                  

Photos by Kathleen Peachey.

 

More photos from this fun event taken by Kathleen Peachey at PeacheyPhoto @gmail.com

can be viewed at this link:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/whdg9ueblzt5q58/AAAaG8m_Orcpgzcjgg9UigKqa#/

 

 

June 22, 2014

 

Dear Paul,

Thank you for all.  We very much enjoyed the opportunity to work with you and had a wonderful experience with the entire group at Hickory House. Thanks for going the extra mile to help us create a great event.

 

Most Sincerely,

 

Kari

Kari Bien

VAN WYCK & VAN WYCK

224 West 30th Street

New York, NY 10001

 

 

Wed, Jun 18, 2014 11:15 am

Subject: thank you again

 

Paul,

The crew you sent me last night was terrific.  I look forward to working with them again.

 

Liza DeBartolo Burnham

Director of Programs & Events

Aspen Historical Society

970-925-3721 ext 107

liza@aspenhistory.org

 

 

 

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com>

Subject: Re: SSA & Company - 2014 Event

 

Paul,

Great to see you again this year as well.  Thanks again, you run a top notch place and Jesse and the team are wonderful to work with!

 

Dee

 

Dee Houdek

Event Coordinator & EA/PA to Scott Miller, CEO

G100 Network

dhoudek@G100.com

708 781 9604 CHICAGO  |  970 544 9300 ASPEN

 

 

Date: June 13, 2014 at 11:30:42 PM MDT

To: Paul Dioguardi

 

RE: Cooler of beer for James & Groomsmen on Saturday

 

Paul,

You all were incredible today, thank you for a great picnic!!!

Kari Bien

 

 

Date: June 14, 2014 at 3:32:08 PM MDT

To: "Paul Dioguardi

Cc: Thunder River Theatre <lonw@sopris.net>

Everything was wonderful, Paul.  You do a great job!

 

Eric H. Smith

 

 

Date: June 14, 2014 at 8:40:28 PM MDT

Paul,

We could not of been happier. The food, service and all over experience with you was perfect. Thank you for making Erica's and John's day perfect.

Thank you again!

 

Lorie

 

 

Paul

Just a note to say all was wonderful with our visit to your restaurant with the Pentagon Ski Club.

The staff was friendly and helpful and insured that our every need was met.  The food was delicious and plentiful - everyone had a great time.  Thank you setting this up for us and giving us a fantastic reason to take a field trip to Aspen from Snowmass.  Your formula for success works quite well, keep up the fabulous work.  Thank you very much!

 

Maggie

Margaret Fitzgerald

 

 

Date: March 11, 2014 at 10:47:31 AM MDT

To: Paul Dioguardi <aspenbbq@aol.com>

 

Hi Paul,

I want to thank you and your staff for an awesome  dinner. The staff did a great job. Please thank them for me. Everyone enjoyed the food and there certainly was plenty. I have to say we have barbecue places here in Rochester NY that do not compare to the Hickory House. Hope to see you again when we come to Aspen.

Nancy

 

 

Sent: Sat, Feb 15, 2014 11:48 am

Subject: A thank you from the Florida Ski Council

 

Paul,

On behalf of the Officers of the Florida Ski Council, I wanted to thank you for catering our event on January 30th at the Base Village Conference Center in Snowmass.  You and your staff did a fantastic job preparing and serving all 500+ of us.  I appreciate your willingness to work with us to adjust the menu to fit our "Fabulous Fifties" theme.  Everyone raved about the food.  They loved your signature ribs and couldn't get over the SIZE of the plates and portions.  No one went home hungry, I'm certain.  Thanks again for all your hard work during a very busy week with other parties and the X-Games.  Hope you are enjoying the season.

 

Linda D. Walker

2nd Vice President

Florida Ski Council

904-536-1021

 

 

 

Hey Mark and Team, 
Thank you so much for your outstanding service at our luncheon on Friday.  Your team was amazing and really went above and beyond to take care of our event.  The food, of course!, was wonderful and I'm pleased to tell you that I didn't even hear one complaint!  Now that is pretty impressive with more than 65 people!

 

Additionally, we appreciate you guys going the extra mile to grill up the salmon for our non-meat eaters and grilling it to perfection, I might add.  Your friendly smiles and positive attitudes really made the event more enjoyable for everyone.  I appreciate your professionalism and your ability to handle our crowd in such an easy manner.  

Thank you for making this such a success.  Hickory House will certainly stay on our list of ideas in the future for other events.  You guys are great!
Have a wonderful week!

Hadley Ott and the team at Courtesy Acura

 

 

Mark,

I just want to thank you for another wonderful buffet; our party yesterday was a huge success, and as always, everyone really enjoyed all the food.

I especially want to pass along our compliments about the young man (Sorry, most men look like a “young man” to me, and unfortunately I do not know his name!) who delivered and served the food; he was so pleasant and professional, and went out of his way to be helpful and to make sure everything ran smoothly. So many people commented on how much they appreciated his service. You can be proud of the way he represented Hickory House!  Thanks again for everything!

 

Jeanne Meardon, RN

Director of Clinical Services

Amazing Care Home Health

 

 

Thank you so much for having such an amazing restaurant!  We recently moved to Colorado from Texas, and with many changes, no Cotton Patch in Colorado....  My daughter absolutely loves your restaurant.  While we have only been in once, the food, the atmosphere, and the staff are amazing.  My daughter will be baptized on the 23rd of December, and we will be in for lunch, as that was her choice of where to go.
God Bless~


Kayla Hock

Discovery Education

 

Hi Mark,

Thank you again for catering at our company event on Friday! The staff was great, timely and everyone raved about the food. I will make sure to recommend your catering services should anyone need great food and service.

Thank you again,

Melissa

 

 

Best BBQ in Parker.

I'm not sure how I've neglected to review hickory house - it's a staple for lunch.  The ribs are awesome.  The smoked meats are delicious.  The soft drinks come in take out cups.  The bar is good for watching sports without the noise.  It's no frills in a log cabin.

Today it's snowpocalypse 2013, and we've just got back from the mountains.  So lunch is in order.  I ordered the prime rib steak sandwich, which comes with fries and coleslaw.  The coleslaw is without carrot, which is ok by me.  I prefer it that way.  It's one of the few coleslaws that I will eat straight up without anything else.  The sandwich comes with a horseradish dressing, which is great for dipping the fries into.  The fries themselves are crispy and not greasy.  The meat in the sandwich has a nice sear on it but keeps the medium doneness on the inside.  The toppings - lettuce, tomato and pickle slices - are a little weak.  My wife ordered the protein power ribs - ribs and a salad.  The salad is a little basic - nothing special.  The ribs are fall of the bone delicious.

 

There are two sauces on the table - the smaller bottle is spicier, and my favorite.  But both are good.

Overall, this is an outstanding place.  I wish the "non-meat" options were better, but that may be asking a little too much.

This is cheap ribs done right.

 

Adrian H. Parker, CO

 

 

 

From Yelp

This was our first visit for lunch using a $15 Groupon.  It was located on S Parker Rd/ south of E Lincoln Ave in Parker.  The friendly hostess greeted us and seated us.

 

The server brought us giant cups of iced water with a straw.  I wanted a refill, but never got one.  The food came out fairly fast by a different gal.  She told us the difference between the bottles of sauces on the table.

 

My husband ordered the Smoked Beef Brisket Lunch Plate.   It came with corn on the cob, cole slaw, and garlic toast.  The corn was hot and wrapped in foil.  The cole slaw was very good.  It was a little sweet and crunchy.   The Smoked Beef Brisket had sauce on top of the meat.  My husband said that next time he would order the sauce on the side because there was a little too much on the meat.

 

I ordered the Protein Power Ribs  which was a full slab of Baby Back ribs and a salad. The Caesar salad came with croutons.  The Baby Back ribs were tender and fall off the bone yummy.  There was not too much sauce on them.

We may be back or order take out.

Kelly G. Centennial, CO

 

From Yelp

Bought a groupon here and made the trek out to Parker.  I've had the opportunity to try out a lot of barbecue in Memphis and have been to a few BBQ events as well.  I have to say from a pure BBQ point of view, Hickory house represents some good Colorado BBQ.  The place is decorated like a rustic old cabin with the odd flair that seems to be common in this style of restaurant.  The menu was fairly simple and I really think they stay within their specialty.  I had the ribs and the brisket.  Note, they specifically do baby back ribs and I did not see any St. Louis style cuts of ribs.

The bbq came out fast and the meatiness of the ribs was good and it was obviously peel off the bone.  The smoke flavor was very subtle on both the brisket and the ribs, which I tend to think of as a good thing.  I didn't get much of a bark, which makes me assume they do not do a dry rub, but the meat was flavored simple and very moist.  Hickory House gets five stars for being a great BBQ joint.  Honestly for Colorado, this is one of the best I've been to.

 

Brady K., Denver, CO

 

From Yelp

We had to try BBQ while we were in Colorado, so we ended up at Hickory House Ribs. The bar was full of Denver Broncos fans watching football, so needless to say the atmosphere was festive.

 

The food was pretty good. The ribs had a nice flavor, but I felt like the beans were nothing special. Christopher had the jalapeno cheddar sausages. I tried them. They were nice and spicy without being overwhelming.

 

Soda was served in large plastic souvenir cups and they were refilled to take home before leaving. It was a very nice touch. The service was very friendly and very efficient.

 

The decor was western style (of course) and the place seemed clean, even on a busy Sunday night. It was a nice way to experience Colorado BBQ.

Paul D., Chicago, IL

 

From Yelp

11/8/2012

Tonight was my first time here, I love me some BBQ so I was excited. I went for the Beef Brisket Dinner and the meat, IMO, was fantastic. I wasn't too enamored with the baked beans, seemed a little bland for a BBQ joint but I added BBQ sauce to it like I always seem to do and it was good. Potato salad was tasty, again, just a tad bland but neither of these is a game changer. Also, finally found a place in Colorado that serves sweet tea! It was yummy. My girlfriend had ribs which I tasted, they were pretty tasty but I'm not much into ribs.

 

The staff were all cool, lots of people smiling and that sets a nice tone for the place. I'll definitely go back.

Shane L., Parker, CO

 

 

 6/12/2012 From Yelp

This where you drop to your knees and pray to the Greek God of pork, Porciniuous.

 

Busy, hectic, happy faux rustic, wood smoked, finger licking, corn breaded Bar-B-Gasms.

 

I had a big ass steak and my wife had a little filet, succulent and delicious. The side ares great too and the beverages are served in glasses that could water a 500 person town for three weeks.

 

The brisk service was vaguely friendly but highly efficient. This place rocks like an 80-'s hair band baby.

Tres B., Denver, CO

 

 

 

 1/27/2013  From Yelp

We have eaten here on several occasions, usually seating in the bar to watch sporting events. Today family & friends (6) got together for lunch & we received exceptional service. Our server was attentive, friendly and was always available when we needed something. Four out of six of us ordered the pulled pork sandwich - It's a healthy portion of pulled pork on a roll or garlic toast (highly recommended) along with great original & spicy sauces on the table to use on your sandwich & fries. Another favorite dish was the jalapeno cheddar sausage, which was very filling... Best deal in town is the HAPPY HOUR  prices- $1.50 beer bottles & other specials...

Tammy M., Parker, CO

 

 

1/7/2012  from Yelp

6 check-ins here

LOVE this place, and I can't believe I don't have a review written here since I've been at least 10 times in the last year.

 

The list of "don't miss" items... beef brisket sandwich, potatoes au gratin, local beers on tap and of course the baby back ribs.

Just love this place, great atmosphere, great staff and the food is awesome.

 

Brandon W., Parker, CO

 

 

6/21/2009  from Yelp

Delicious smokey aromas drift across Hickory House's parking lot to greet you before you even get close to walking through the doors. Brightly-colored wagons and old agricultural equipment decorate the exterior, and the outside eating area is lined with pretty hanging baskets and window boxes. What a cute place!

 

The inside is cozy with lots of wood paneling, Western-themed prints, and all kinds of pictures, signs and knick knacks from days gone by. It's been done a million times before, and I'm sure a lot of people would think it pretty lame, but I really liked it.

 

We both chose a combo meal (me - half rack of ribs and spicy link sausage; him - half rack of ribs with smoked beef; $12.99 each) with baked potatoes, baked beans, coleslaw and Texas toast. The sides were decent but not overly-spectacular (the beans were a touch too firm and the spud hadn't been washed thoroughly, but the slaw was tasty and seemed homemade). The meats, however, were fabulous! Though pretty damn tiny (the half "rack"was about the width of the toast), the ribs were smokey in flavor, slightly crispy and burnt on the outside but the meat was moist and succulent inside. I didn't feel the need to slather them in sauce at all. The link was, without doubt, the best I have ever tasted - not too spicy but hearty and meaty with an amazingly "snappy" casing. Soooo good... His smoked beef looked more like pulled pork but it was tender and smokey flavorful.

 

Service could have been a little more attentive but there was nothing to really gripe about. HH is my favorite 'que joint in Denver so far. I can't wait to go back and stuff my face with more of their links! 4.5 stars!

 

We eat here about once a month, and imo it's the best place ever. The service is usually a bit aloof but we've never had a bad meal. The sides are a bit meh but the meats - especially the hot links and brisket - are phenomenal.

Caroline C., Fort Lupton, CO

 

 

Heather and Nick's wedding

 

 

Hi Paul,

 

Thank you SO much for your assistance with our wedding last weekend!  I had so many people tell me that your catered meal was the best wedding meal they had ever had.  :-)  You guys did an amazing job with the set-up, cocktail food and dinner food...and really allowed us and our guests to sit back, relax and enjoy the evening.  Nick and I will always visit the Hickory House whenever we're in Aspen!!

 

Best,

Heather

 

 

Paul!

 

What an amazing wedding and we owe a lot of thanks to you and your crew for making it so!  The food was divine!
It was the best meal I've ever had at a wedding.

 

Heather is absolutely right that we will be stopping by the Hickory House whenever we are in town :)

Thank you for your excellent service and food!!!

 

Nick

 

 

 

1/13/2009

The Hickory House is one of the best dining experiences that Parker has to offer.

 

I am a big fan of the theory of ribs, but usually most ribs places fail in their execution.  The ribs at the Hickory House are The Shiz.  Currently, they are my favorite.  No giant globs of fat, never over cooked, the meat is usually still holding on to the bone.  They come with a "reasonable" amount of BBQ sauce on them.  I make sure to slather on extra sauce.  . PROTIP: Wash your hand well before eating because finger licking afterwords is very hard to resist.  I never thought my fingers could be so delicious.

 

One of the advantages to getting the food "to go" is that they usually provide you with more packets of their BBQ sauce than you can use in one meal.  Great for use on other home meals or if you just like to sit around drinking BBQ sauce from packets.

 

Other food includes brisket, pulled pork, spicy sausage, steak, and chicken.  So far, so good on everything we have tried. The BBQ ribs are still the star of the show, but the supporting cast is not going to disappoint.

 

The restaurant is done up all "woody".  Kind of like Chili's, but more authentic.  The rumble of the customers is usually pretty loud, so don't worry about bringing your kids.  Seating on the back deck is fantastic in the warmer months, but don't let them seat you there in the winter.  Despite the overhead heaters and canvas wall flaps, the back deck can be a chilly place for people without enough body insulation.

 

For the quality and amount of food you get, the prices are spot on.  You can usually get our of there for under $15 a plate.

 

If you are in Parker and looking for a good BBQ meal, the Hickory House is the place to go.

Cassandra K., Parker, CO

 

 

7.3.10

Ahhh, the power of suggestion.  One ROTD + a hankering for charred meat this holiday weekend put Hickory House on the to do list.

 

Plunked right off Parker Rd. this place always smells wonderful, but we had never stopped in, glad we did today.

The place is wood everything, walls, floors, bar and covered top to bottom in various pub decor, sports teams, trinkets, well you get the picture.  It is fun and comfy.

 

We sat at the back near the bar and I promptly took advantage of their $1 longneck happy hour.  A full order of ribs complete with baked potato, beans and slaw quickly followed.  Ribs were the best thing on the plate - a good taste of smoke (without it overpowering the meat) and a nice bark encrusted the meat.  All the sides were OK - nothing stands out, but nothing was bad.

 

We will definitely go back.  It is a nice easy going joint.

Jessica J., Aurora, CO1/2

 

 

7/2011

The ribs here are delicious!  It's a pet peeve of mine when a barbecue joint sells ribs that take forever to eat because you can't get all the meat off, and that was not a problem with this place  The meat just fell off the bone.

The sauces here are also perfect.  I'm extremely picky about barbecue sauce- I don't like too much vinegar or too much sweetness, and their house sauce strikes a perfect balance.

On one visit I just was not feeling like barbecue but everyone else was, so I ordered the Sirloin.  It was cooked perfectly and had great mesquite flavor.  I also had the jalapeño cheddar sausage and it was also very good.

Overall this is some great barbecue!

Myla P., Erie, CO

 

Paul,

You have the best value for the dollar in Aspen. The quality of the food and the portions were outsranding.  I will recommend your restaurant to all my friends.

Thanks again.

Bill & Patty Reid

 

 

Thank you, Paul.  We have heard numerous comments about how wonderful the food was. 
It made for a very successful day, and thank you for being so accommodating with the to-go boxes.

Regards,

 

Laura Lower | Director of Human Resources

Destination Resorts Snowmass | 300 Carriage Way/ PO Box 5008 | Snowmass Village, CO 81615

Office 970-923-7068 |Fax 970-923-3014| Email: llower@destinationhotels.com

 

 

Jeff Lyons dinner Aug 9, 2013

Paul,

The food was delicious and Katy and Jesse were very helpful and extremely pleasant doing so.  Even the weather cooperated.  We had a great time.  Thanks for everything.

 

Judy Kern

 

 

August 12, 2013

HI Mark,

I just wanted to thank you and your staff for the excellent food and service at our daughter's wedding.  There were many compliments on the food and how organized everything was.

We appreciate your professionalism and your flexibility in the planning stages!  You have our recommendation.

 

Marium Strott

 

 

Website design by Flying Colors of Naples, Inc. www.flyingcolorsofnaples.com

Copyright 2007 Hickory House Restaurants